Wednesday, April 9, 2014

Speaker John A. Pérez Creates Select Committee on Women in the Workplace, Names Assemblymember Lorena Gonzalez as Chair

SACRAMENTO — (Tuesday, April 8, 2014) – California State Assembly Speaker John A. Pérez today announced the creation of the Assembly Select Committee on Women in the Workplace and named Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzalez (D-San Diego) as its chair.

“I have formed the Select Committee on Women in the Workplace with the expectation that it will address the whole range of issues from wages to working conditions and everything in between,” said Speaker Pérez (D-Los Angeles). “I have asked Assemblymember Lorena Gonzalez to lead this important effort. She is a talented and thoughtful advocate for California’s women, and I am confident she will put forward innovative and insightful suggestions on ways we can close the gap and ensure every woman in California earns a fair wage for the work she does.”

Speaker Pérez made the announcement on Equal Pay Day, part of an ongoing national campaign to increase awareness about pay inequality for working women.

“Equal Pay Day is our annual reminder that more and more families are relying on women to be breadwinners and that our economy works best when we acknowledge and accommodate the realities working women face,” said Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzalez (D-San Diego). “As a single working mother myself, I face this reality every day and I am very excited to work with my colleagues to seek solutions that break down barriers to employment, accommodate women’s roles in their families as well as their jobs, and bring a greater dose of equity to the workplace.”

The Select Committee on Women in the Workplace will focus on challenges faced by women in the workforce including the changing role of women in society, how to ensure pay equity and opportunity for women, the health and well-being of women in the workplace, and the impact on family life.

The members of the Select Committee on Women in the Workplace are:

Assemblymember Rob Bonta (D-Oakland)
Assemblymember Nora Campos (D-San Jose)
Assemblymember Brian Dahle (R- Bieber)
Assemblymember Cristina Garcia (D-Bell Gardens)
Assemblymember Roger Hernández (D-West Covina)
Assemblymember Marc Levine (D-San Rafael)
Assemblymember Henry Perea (D-Fresno)
Assemblymember Sharon Quirk-Silva (D-Fullerton)
Assemblymember Nancy Skinner (D-Los Angeles)
Assemblymember Marie Waldron (R-Escondido)

 Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzalez represents the 80th Assembly District, which includes Chula Vista, National City and the San Diego neighborhoods of City Heights, Barrio Logan, Paradise Hills, San Ysidro and Otay Mesa. For more information, visit

No comments: